A joint project by author/activist Starhawk and filmmaker Donna Read
Home

Order Films

About Signs out of Time

About Marija Gimbutas

Goddess Salons

Salons Message Board

Salon Monthly Info

Goddess Resource Page

About Belili
Belili Events
DONATE to Belili
Email Belili


Marija Gimbutas "Goddess Salon" Discussion Groups

In our Dec. '05
newsletter we included a survey that asked whether the reader would be interested in hosting a Salon. We received many replies from various locations around the world, and so the Salons were launched in February '06. For ten months we had new sessions with a featured host. Although we are not offering new sessions any longer, the salons can continue using the archived material on the salon monthly info page.

How the Salons work:

The primary source viewing material for the salons comes from our Behind the Screen series, featuring the complete uncut sessions of each person who was interviewed for Signs Out of Time. For each featured guest there is also a short bio, a suggested book to read, and discussion questions for both the video and the book, along with a recipe. Marija was known for her apple pies, so in that tradition, we’ve suggested something to cook and share, as well as some simple ritual suggestions.

You gather your friends and pick a convenient date to meet. We suggest that meeting once a month works well for most people in our busy culture. Each month, one interviewee from Signs Out of Time is the featured guest. You can view the interview in our Behind the Screen series and use the discussion questions to follow up.

During the next weeks, you’ll have time to read the suggested selection. At your next month's meeting, you can discuss the book selection from the previous month and view the video of the next featured guest. An archive of each month's salon packet is posted on our salon monthly info page. You can start a new salon series any time using the archives.

Message Board:

We have a message board/discussion forum integrated with our site. Anyone can post without having to register first. We have created discussion threads on the board specific to the particular featured guest. You can engage in discussion there with others who are participating in salons, at your leisure (but you will not have your email inbox flooded with mail from a listserve!)

Calendar of Featured Guests:

Month 1 - View Signs Out of Time Donna Read and Starhawk. Reading: Truth or Dare: Encounters with Power, Authority and Mystery by Starhawk

Month 2 - Joan Marler. View Behind the Screen interview. Reading: The Language of the Goddess by Marija Gimbutas (edited by Joan Marler)

Month 3 - Miriam Robbins Dexter. View Behind the Screen interview. Reading: The Living Goddesses by Marija Gimbutas and Miriam Robbins Dexter.

Month 4 - Carol Christ. View Behind the Screen interview. Reading: The Rebirth of the Goddess by Carol Christ

Month 5 - Elinor Gadon. View Behind the Screen interview. Reading: The Once and Future Goddess by Elinor Gadon and the short article "From Blood to Fire"

Month 6 - Ralph Metzner. View Behind the Screen interview. Reading: The Well of Remembrance by Ralph Metzner

Month 7 - Vicki Noble

Month 8 - Mara Keller

Month 9 - Riane Eisler

Mnth 10 - Deena Metzger


 

Salon Instruction Packets:

We have the instruction packets archived on the salon monthly info page.

Salon Locations:

Below you will find the locations of salons that are either in the planning stages or have begun, with the email address of the host. Below that is a list of those who would like to participate in a salon if one that is being formed in their area.

We encourage the formation of new salons at any time. If you would like to host, send us an email at salons@belili.org. Indicate your physical location so we can post your information here. If you would like to be a participant, send us an email at salons@belili.org with your physical location. We'll post it here, in case others in your area want to form a salon.

USA:

Venice, CA: Jodie Evans
heartofj@gmail.com

Oakland, CA (Lake Merritt area):
Marady Hill
marady@sbcglobal.net

Oakland, CA: (women only, 7 maximum)
Janette
emmagoldman44@yahoo.com

Santa Cruz/Aptos, CA: Nicola Wagner
nicola@nicolawagnerprints.com

Humboldt County, CA (Arcata area):
Susan McGee
SusanGSMcGee@aol.com

Lompoc/Santa Barbara County, CA:
Kerowyn n'ha Susanna
kerowyn@warmfuzzy.com

Wilmington, DE:Melissa Camoirano
veggiemommie@mac.com

Winder, GA: Jessie Jaramillo
remembrancerose@yahoo.com

Albequerque, NM: Katya Miller
katya@ladyfreedom.net
CO-HOST:
Yvonne Scott
ivonna52@netzero.net

Florence, MA: Joann Lutz
joannlutz@yahoo.com

West Concord, MA:
A SPACE to hold a salon has been offered by Womens Well, if anyone would like to host.
info@womenswell.org

Lathrup Village, MI: Wendy Valhoff
wendyvalhoff@sbcglobal.net

Saline (near Ann Arbor), MI:
Calesta Harrison
calesta@toshoklabs.com

Traverse City area, MI:
Penny Krebiehl
littleartshram@hotmail.com

Kansas City, MO: Vicky or Sybil at Ancient Wisdom - vicky@ancientwisdomkc.org
816-756-2743

New York City: Holly Troy
Holly is searching for a hosting location, so contact her if you have one
holly@littlecrackedegg.com

West Warwick, RI: Kate Gillis
ksgillis@netzero.net

Austin, TX: Deanne Quarrie
eurynome_creates@yahoo.com

Burlington, VT: Beth Rice
Beth.Rice@uvm.edu

S. Whidbey Island, WA: Beverly Rose
bubbybev@whidbey.com

La Crosse, WI: Deborah Hirsch deborahy30004@yahoo.com

CANADA:

Ottawa, Ontario: Judith Wouk
jwouk@ncf.ca

Guelph, Ontario: Linda Borys
lindaborys@rogers.com

Vancouver, BC: Medwyn
jmconachy@shaw.ca

ENGLAND:

Bristol: Rachael O'Neill
Rachaelon@yahoo.co.uk

AUSTRALIA:

Blue Mountains-Sydney area:
Glenys Livingstone
pagaian@bigpond.net.au

Ocean Shores (near Byron Bay NSW)
Laura-Doe Harris & Turiya Bruce
muse@yoni.com

PARTICIPANTS:

Phoenix, AZ: Joan Robinson-Blumit
jvblumit@extremezone.com

Mesa, AZ: Doe Daughtrey
ddaughtrey@gmail.com

Berkeley, CA: Bayla Bower
baylacrone@aol.com

Oakland, CA: Nieves Hagmeier
nevkitty@hotmail.com

Fairfax, CA: Jo Carson jocarsonvisualfx@earthlink.net

Sebastopol, CA: Robin Latham
winewitch@hotmail.com


Nevada City CA: Miki Sanders
mikisand@yahoo.com

Sacramento, CA: Cindy Nelson
ckn811@aol.com

San Diego, CA: Sharon Johnson
sharonrjohnson@cox.net

Idaho Falls, ID: Julie Raymond
tigressgaia@yahoo.com

Elkhart, IN: Peg Wolf
pwolfie@netscape.com

Crystal River, FL: Karen Castle
kmclmt@earthlink.net

Greenfield, MA: Lierre Keith
lierrekeith@yahoo.com

Bemidji, MN: Neen Lillquist
neen@paulbunyan.net

Weaverville, NC: Sarah Wells
salisaw@hotmail.com

Tinton Falls, NJ (Monmouth County):
Rebecca Scarborough - rebscar@verizon.net

Farmingdale, NY (works in NYC):
Lorelei Schroeter - lorelei03@hotmail.com

San Leon, TX: Lyryal PatternDancer lyryal@yahoo.com

Spokane, WA: Joan Denoo
joan@myior.com

CANADA:

Vancouver Island, B.C. (Duncan Area):
Marcia - darmar7@shaw.ca

Victoria, B.C.: Elaine Codling
ekcodling@shaw.ca

ENGLAND:

Exeter, Devon: Alice Guthrie
A.L. Guthrie@exeter.ac.uk

AUSTRALIA:

Perth, W. Australia: Carole Lane
collaich1@yahoo.com.au

All pages copyright ©2003-2008 Belili Productions. Site by Terrapin & Crystal Point -- all rights reserved.